Roses in Albuquerque area - pruning

aklindaMarch 11, 2006

I inherited some very large rose bushes on the property I just moved to. One of them has a trunk nearly as big around as my leg. Another of them I didn't even realize was a rose until a neighbor told me - it is well over my head and has an almost weeping habit. They all seem to be pretty healthy and well established. Is now the correct time to prune in Bosque Farms? What about the large bush with the weeping habit - I like the way it looks now. Some of the branches are nearly arched to the ground. Any info is appreciated.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
ABQ_Bob(USDA 5a/SS 2A)

I've only got two "regular" rose bushes, so I'm no expert. But I just pruned mine back a couple days ago - there was no new growth on them yet, so I think they'll be fine.

--Bob

Bookmark   March 16, 2006 at 5:26PM
the_farmers_wife(zone 5 Montana)

You don't have any growth on them? Not even those litte red "buds" or whatever they're called? I thought it might be warmer where you are, but here in Mountainair, my roses have those buds. I pruned them a few days ago (just dead-heading and removing dead canes), so it's definately time, linda. I also my first roses when we moved here last year, so I'm learning too. I'd think of your roses as "your" roses, so do what you want with them! I had to move one of the rose bushes, and I swear every old lady in time drove by. I was positive one would stop and say it was her rose bush!

good luck!

Bookmark   March 20, 2006 at 4:25PM
frdnicholas(Albuquerque NM)

My roses have lots of new growth on them. Is it okay to prune off the dead branches?

Bookmark   March 20, 2006 at 10:08PM
the_farmers_wife(zone 5 Montana)

Well, I did, but I'm no where near an expert. They seem fine a few days later. I'd check the roses forum - they're really helpful with that sort of stuff!

good luck!

Bookmark   March 21, 2006 at 9:27AM
aklinda