Cuttings from Mexican Bird of Paradise?

serakiJune 21, 2007

Curious if you can grow BOP from cuttings, or only from the seed pods?

Any info would be appreciated!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
michellesg(z8bTX)

I looked up BOP on line so that I knew what plant it is (I'm a newbie) and I'm really happy now because this is one of those bitty plants I keep mowing over in my back yard. I may just dig them up next time I go to mow so I have something to bring to the next plant swap (now that I know it's something people want to grow!).
BTW after looking it up on the net it says that propagation is from seed but who knows, maybe someone has done it from a cutting.

Bookmark   June 21, 2007 at 10:08PM
seraki

Thanks, I've got a few in my front yard. And a friend wants to grow some in hers. There are no seed pods yet, and well, she keeps bugging me about it! lol

Bookmark   June 22, 2007 at 10:58AM
growingup

I just planted seeds from a pod today, but I did also plant cuttings from a bouganvillia. I don't know the specs on the Pride of Barbados/Mex bird of paradise, but for the bouganvillia, I cut them, applied honey to the ends and planted them right away.

Bookmark   June 26, 2007 at 9:41PM
seraki

Well, I decided to do an experiment anyways. I took some cuttings and dipped them in rooting horomones, then in a planting mixture. We'll see how it goes!

Bookmark   June 29, 2007 at 12:01PM
kim2007

Hello to all on the forum--
I don't know about growing Bird of Paradise from cuttings, but I planted a total of 5 BOP seeds in April, and of those 2 sprouted and are now about 7 inches tall, growing for the time being in pots. (I'm in the NM highlands, and I've only seen one of them growing in a yard here, but I'm optimistic!)

Bookmark   July 2, 2007 at 2:31AM
rbarbour1114_comcast_net