Cottage Garden in Southern California?

ddoudAugust 13, 2012

I am new to San Diego (Zone 23-24) and have purchased a home that has beds along the periphery of the back yard. In Chicago I had wonderful cottage gardens and enjoy having cut flowers in the house. Obviously it is different gardening here, but suggestions for what plants would be included in a Zone 6 cutting/cottage garden that also grow here? Or further suggestions of things that grow here that I couldn't use in Chicago?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
gyr_falcon(Sunset 23 USDA 9)

I love cottage gardens. The list of possible plants for a garden in San Diego is vast. Below are a few plant ideas that may help you get started on your cottage garden design. Some of the names are likely old friends from your Chicago garden, others may be unfamiliar.

Agapanthus, agastache, asclepias, achillea, alstroemeria, alyssum, anemone, aquilegia, anigozanthos, armeria, artemisia, bletilla, buddleja, bergenia, canna, crocosmia, campanula, Coreopsis grandifolia, clematis, coleus, cosmos, daylilies, dahlias, dietes, dianthus, echium, euphorbia, festuca, freesia, fuchsia, foxglove, geum, geranium (true), gaura, gazania, gladiolus, gaillardia, heuchera, iris (bearded), kniphofia, kalanchoe, lavender, lantana, lobelia, limonium, lotus (L. berthelotii), liriope, malva, phormium, passiflora, phygelius, penstemon, physostegia, pelargonium, pentas, rehmannia, rudbeckia, rosemary, salvia, sedum, snapdragons, Shasta daises, stachys, trachelium, thyme, verbena, voila and zinnia.

Bookmark   August 17, 2012 at 6:47PM
More Discussions
Help get rid of Scorpions - have dogs
Help!!. My friend has a new wooden house in the South....
Natilie70
Searching for Palo Verde 'Desert Museum'
I live in the San Francisco Bay Area, and have searched...
Oyster123
Animal eating lemon peels
Hi, I just found this forum and want to know what animal...
hammerhugger
Anyone out there have a joshua tree?