Plant that begins with 'u'

flamingogal(Kansas)May 18, 2002

I am a preschool teacher in an elementary school in KS. We are creating an ABC garden and are looking for a plant that begins with the letter "u". We can always be creative and find some kind of "ugly" plant, but would prefer to have a plant that actually begins with "u". Last year we just put an umbrella plant out in a pot, but would like something different this year. Any ideas??

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
albert_135(Sunset 2 or 3)

Elm trees are of the genus Ulmus. I don't know anything about kids, this may be a stretch.

Bookmark   May 19, 2002 at 4:47PM
katybird_PA(z6 PA)

Uvularia. I believe the common name is merry bells.
It scares me that this immediately came to mind when I saw the subject of your post. Too much time reading my garden books!

Bookmark   May 21, 2002 at 3:12PM
ankraras(8/9AZ)

Hi;-
I do not recall that many plants beginning with the letter *U* but here are a few;-

Ugni [Chilean Guava] ;- A beautiful evergreen shrub .
Ulex [Gorse] ;- An unusual, almost leafless, fragrant flowers shrub.
Umbellularia [Headache tree] ;- It is said that the aromatic leaves are used as an insect repellent.
Urceolina ;- Not sure of the common name. A genus of spring flowering bulbs.
Urginea [Hook sedge] ;- Another flowering bulb that flowers in late summer.
Ursinia [Star of the veld] ;- A genus of perennials and annuals, some for foliage others for flowers.
Utricularia [Bladderwort] ;- Carnivorous water plants.
Uebelmannia [Cacti] ;- I think this unique genus is from Basil.
Uncarina [Succulent] ;- Trees and shrubs with beautiful flowers and fuzzy leaves.

Supannee
Ankrara's Hobby Corner

Bookmark   May 22, 2002 at 10:47AM
sinsleystuff(z5,ID)

Thanks for the post, I am kindergarten teacher and we just completed our ABC garden and I could not find a "U" plant for our zone.

Bookmark   May 22, 2002 at 11:12PM
Roadworrier