You think my Needle palm is doing alright?

plateau_boyFebruary 9, 2013

I've been growing it here on the plateau in Tn for 2 or 3 years so far. I covered it heavily with mulch and maybe bubble wrap the first winter (lowest temp was 8 degrees), but it seemed like it almost died that year, all its leaves turned white. I don't think it lost any leaves last winter, I covered it with a little less mulch. This winter, it has been doing great with only a little mulch I put on in January as protection, as I've only seen the temp drop to the teens a couple times. All its leaves are still green except a few really old leaves that got a little brown. But, one thing that bothers me is I can't tell if its central frond is still alive. It popped up in the fall and hasn't grown since. I hope that means the tree is still alright. I have some photos I took today if I can figure out how to post them, I tried to show the frond but it is hard to see. If anyone has experience with these palms, let me know please.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
midtn(7a TN)

My own experience is I don't baby mine at all. I have had mine for maybe 5 years now and it is doing great. I don't cover or mulch it at all. There shouldn't have been weather cold enough to bother it the last few years. Maybe if i see temps dropping close to zero or less I would worry. I'm near Nashville so I am maybe 3 or 4 degrees warmer than the plateau. My Sabal Birmingham has done well also.

Bookmark   February 10, 2013 at 9:01PM
midtn(7a TN)

My own experience is I don't baby mine at all. I have had mine for maybe 5 years now and it is doing great. I don't cover or mulch it at all. There shouldn't have been weather cold enough to bother it the last few years. Maybe if i see temps dropping close to zero or less I would worry. I'm near Nashville so I am maybe 3 or 4 degrees warmer than the plateau. My Sabal Birmingham has done well also.

Bookmark   February 10, 2013 at 9:02PM
plateau_boy