Best SFG size for 200 square foot space

jwaterskiJuly 14, 2014

I have a space that's 20 feet by 10 feet and I plan to build a few square foot boxes in that space. I am new to SFG so I was wondering what would be the ideal size SFG to work with? I was thinking maybe a few 4X4 boxes... or would a few 8X2 be better? Thanks!

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
tcstoehr

I would make two 4x20' boxes with a 2' path down the middle. 200 square feet isn't alot so you'll want to maximize bed area versus paths. Making 20' long boxes is more problematic, but I would be trying hard to not waste planting space. This is assuming that if you do this you will still have access to the outside edges, but I don't really know that. If you don't, then you would have to do all of the bed maintenance from the center, which you may or may not find acceptable.

Bookmark   July 16, 2014 at 11:57AM
jocoyn

With my beds I found I can capitalize on the aisle between the beds. My garden gets a lot of light though and I am not doing that "across the board" ....last bed has a piece of goat fence over the top and has small watermelons--but it would work for butternuts etc. I am doing more trellising as I go along....still have to be careful about light.

We built beds that are 3 x 8 inside - I know 4 is recommended but we used plans. Came up with the tops ourselves and they are giving all kinds of possibilities for trellising, and covering (like using shade cloth). I have had more sun than I bargained for and found on really hot days hanging shade cloth over some of the plants is not a bad thing.

Honestly, we made our aisles big enough for a garden cart but I think they are wider than we needed and we could have gained some space by tightening up. 2 feet makes sense. figure out how much you need to comfortably access the inside of the bed.

Bookmark   August 6, 2014 at 6:35AM
Ellen1959

jocoyn your garden looks beautiful!