Tropical hedge in a small planter?

mkt04April 7, 2004

Hi, I'm very new to all this plant stuff because I've never lives in place with a backyard until now. However, I just moved into a small (very) bungalow in Venice Beach, CA. The back is actually a small deck with a sheet metal fence. I was born in Hawaii and would like to create a tropical feel, but the metal is killing my vibe. I'd like to build a small planter and put something in it that will cover much of the far wall. Because of the small space I want to keep the planter to about 12" wide, 16" high and 6' long. I was originally thinking something like Golden Goddess bamboo, but I've been told it won't work in such a small planter.

Is there any other type of plant that feels tropical that could grow to about 6' tall and cover the wall. I guess I could also do something that hung down from a planter at the top of the fence as well.

Thanks

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
mich_in_zonal_denial

Mkt04,,
From my experience I would venture to say that the bamboo would work in this container.

I have a raised core ten metal box planted with Golden Goddess bamboo and it has been doing just fine for the past several years and is showing no signs of decline ,,,, on the contrary, it is thriving and enjoying life in bondage.

Another option(s) that you may want to entertain are vines.
Perhaps Lavender star flower ' Grewia', or Bougainvillea or Tecomaria or Distictis.

Mahalo.

Bookmark   April 7, 2004 at 8:36PM
don_brown(Zone 6A NS)