Angel Trumpet leaves turn yellow and fall off

restlessJuly 28, 2007

Hi;

I have an Angel Trumpet in a pot. I have been growing this for 2 years and it is 9 feet tall with beautiful blossoms. I have alway's watered it morning and night with 1/2 teaspoon Miracle-Gro per 2 gal. water. The leaves have started to turn yellow and are falling off. Tried 1 teaspoon Epson salt per gal. water a few day's ago. Did this once, no change. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks;

Restless

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
buyorsell888(Zone 8 Portland OR)

Check for spider mites.

Bookmark   July 28, 2007 at 12:44PM
sandy0225(z5 Indiana)

That's what angel trumpet leaves do, fall off...lol...if they're not falling off then the thing must have died. It might be rootbound, the light might have changed, it might have been too dry, the temps can cause it, drafts when the plant is inside, spider mites, whiteflies.
If it's not buggy, change it into a new pot and fertilize it after about two weeks.

Bookmark   July 28, 2007 at 5:04PM
karyn1(7a)

It's common for the older foliage to drop. Are you feeding it with every watering? I feed my brugs once or twice a week during the growing season but not daily. I also use epsom salts once a month. My large brugs are in 25 gallon containers. Is your brug droopy when you water it? If not you might be giving it too much water which can cause the foliage to yellow.
Karyn

Bookmark   July 28, 2007 at 11:04PM
restless

Hi;
I would like to thank everyone for your help. I don't know how I over looked mites. That seems to be what it was after buyorse11888 mentioned it, I took a better look. I sprayed the plant 24 hours ago and it already looks better.
Restless

Bookmark   July 29, 2007 at 2:57PM
rosepedal(Four seasons zone4/5)

What do we spray the anger trumpets with for spidermites Barb

Bookmark   March 2, 2008 at 9:46AM
sultry_jasmine_nights (Florida 9a)