Calla lily ( Zantedeschia)

ifraser25(z11 Brazil)October 11, 2013

How much shade will Calla Lily tolerate without affecting the flowering? Our climate is generally pretty sunny.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
tropicbreezent

I'm surprised that Calla will grow there, it doesn't do any good here.

Bookmark   October 11, 2013 at 5:19PM
garyfla_gw(10 Florida)

Hi
Have that problem with callas . Start out well and then tend to waste away over the seasons.. Guess they require a cool/cold rest period as they are quite common to the north of me Similar reaction from Dahlias ,Agapanthus ,hardy orchids gary

Bookmark   October 12, 2013 at 3:18AM
ifraser25(z11 Brazil)

Many "cooler" species ie. Dahlia, Agapanthus, Indian Azalea, and Camellia do well here. Fuchsia is on the limit. It flowers but not profusely. I think the altitude (1000m, 3000ft) is the main factor. I have never tried Callas before but they are really easy to grow from seed and I have a couple of dozen fist-sized plants, so I thought I would give it a shot. I'm told they need rich, moist soil, which we do not have, but I'm preparing an area specially. No-one is answering my question however, how much shade...?

Bookmark   October 12, 2013 at 10:34AM
ifraser25(z11 Brazil)

Many "cooler" species ie. Dahlia, Agapanthus, Indian Azalea, and Camellia do well here. Fuchsia is on the limit. It flowers but not profusely. I think the altitude (1000m, 3000ft) is the main factor. I have never tried Callas before but they are really easy to grow from seed and I have a couple of dozen fist-sized plants, so I thought I would give it a shot. I'm told they need rich, moist soil, which we do not have, but I'm preparing an area specially. No-one is answering my question however, how much shade...?

Bookmark   October 12, 2013 at 10:53AM
alisonoz_gw