Syracuse area/Daffs & tulips blming yet?

phylrae(z5a/centralNYS)April 8, 2007

Just wondered if anyone in this area has had daffodils or tulips blooming yet (LOL)

I just wondered, even though NOW IT'S SNOWING AGAIN! because my sister-in-law lives in the same zone in Ohio, and she told me tonight that she has ALREADY CUT most of her daffodils. Sounds too early for me....my daffodils didn't begin to bloom til the beginning of May last year. I realize that there are some very early bloomers, but this sounds crazy. Just curious! :0) Phyl

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
keeperofthememories

I'm about 1 1/2 hrs east of Syracuse. We have snow too.:(

Nothing blooming here yet.... and it's been too cold and windy the last several days to do anything outside!

Bookmark   April 8, 2007 at 7:42AM
phylrae(z5a/centralNYS)

Thanks, Keeperofthememories! (BTW, neat sounding name!) I'm a little bummed with this weather, as we finally have a week off from school (I work in a school district), and it's not at all conducive to gardening! :0) Phyl

Bookmark   April 8, 2007 at 12:10PM
Carol_from_ny

You might be in the same zone BUT chances are she doesn't have to deal with the lake effect weather you get so she might just be ahead of you with her blooming flowers.

Bookmark   April 10, 2007 at 2:09PM
green_panther(Upstate NY)

I'm only just able to see the daffies heads. Half of them got knocked down and killed with the snow last week. I only got to see my crocus' open TWICE before the snow did them in too! My very early tulips are starting to show heads too, but no blooms. Hopefully this warm weekend will give me garden some color!

Bookmark   April 20, 2007 at 9:06AM
penny1947(z6 WNY)

I am in the Buffalo Niagara region but as of today no sign of my tulips blooming. Daffs have been blooming. I don't think my tulips are going to do anything this year. They usually bloom by Easter.

Penny

Bookmark   April 20, 2007 at 10:36AM
penny1947(z6 WNY)