First coffee roasting

gnappiOctober 11, 2013

I've been growing coffee for over 3 years and never had enough coffee cherries to get a sufficient amount to roast, grind and brew it.

This year two of my 8 bushes are producing a large crop and tonight I FINALLY made coffee. I used an old vintage Melitta roaster, a BURR grinder and brewed just like store bought.

What a surprise! it had an almost nutty flavor, and I've read that the taste changes a lot with longer or shorter roasting times.

Now when I watch TV, I busy myself pulling the skins off and preparing them for roasting. It's a PITA but worth it! When all of my bushes are producing I'll have to find a better method of husking the cherries though, any suggestions?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
stanofh

How fast do they grow for you,and how much sun do they take? I have one that's two years old..but not more then 10". A seedling from Lowes. Looks nice,but slow. I wonder if part sun is too shady here? Maybe full sun.

Bookmark   October 12, 2013 at 6:16PM
gnappi

Most on the ones that are producing now were larger than yours when I bought them.

I have half in full sun and the rest in shade. The ones in sun seem to produce more and grow faster. Mine are in the ground a bit over 3 years and are 4'-5' tall.

Be patient, they take off around 3 years if they're in the ground and get enough water.

Bookmark   October 15, 2013 at 5:24AM
James AKA lumpy_j

Do you eat the cherries? I have 3 trees about 2' tall in a pot. No flowers yet, so no fruit. I'm curious about how the cherries taste.

Bookmark   October 15, 2013 at 8:01PM
gnappi

The beans / seeds I haven't tasted but the cherry shell is sweet but insipid. I'm surprised ants don't go after them.

Bookmark   October 15, 2013 at 8:58PM
sf_rhino

The ones I've tasted in the past were rather pleasant, like a sweeter, softer rose hip. It sounds like that is a variable trait. Too bad.

Bookmark   October 16, 2013 at 2:08PM
stanofh