faster growing trees for summer shade

rfbcville(7b)September 26, 2006

I'm new to Charlottesville, VA zone 7b area and our house has no trees. I am looking for:

a fast(er) growing for summer shade for south side of house & backyard

Fruit/leaves not poisinous to dogs

Strong wood/disease resistant/Not too invasive roots

we have hard clay soil

I know some of the fastest growing trees have weaker wood - so maybe I should plant 2 types of trees near each other - a fast grower and a slower but stronger grower - any ideas about good combinations?

Thanks for your help.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
creatrix(z7 VA)

Here's a list I found by searching 'shade trees zone 7'. GA has some colder areas in the mountains, so some of these will work for you.

Here is a link that might be useful: Univ. of GA fast shade tree list

Bookmark   September 27, 2006 at 11:14PM
taxonomist(7b VA)

I believe that you will be well pleased if you select a Golden rain tree, Koeleuteria paniculata Laxmann., is a very fast-growing and extremely hardy,deciduous shade tree.
This tree has been assigned to the tropical family; Sapindaceae. It thrives here in zone 6 and 7 and appears to be resistant to both fungal and insect damage. When it flowers, you will realise why it is termed Golden raintree
Perhaps you will be able to find a good write-up and some photos in your local library.

Bookmark   October 12, 2006 at 7:46PM
meldy_nva(z6b VA)

There are several trees called golden rain tree. Koelreuteria paniculata is the common one, but is also considered a pest tree by many people because it re-seeds enthusiastically, and some people are allergic to the scent of the flowers. But it is a very attractive tree.

If you have space, do consider the Carolina Silverbell. It's smaller, but sturdy and tolerant of neglect. I haven't had any problem with seedlings. It is said to be found along streams and in moist areas, but mine is at the top of a ridge slope, and gets no extra water.