transplanting cannas

ladysmith94(TX)January 11, 2011

I am new to Texas gardening - west Texas to be more precise. I need to know when is the best time to move a bed of cannas. They are where I want to plant something else and I have another good spot for them, plus they are pretty thick.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
merrybookwyrm

The lady I got my cannas from thinned and dug hers in the fall, maybe September? October? That way the cannas had fall and winter to settle into the beds at my house.

Maybe if you cut a large rootball for the cannas with a shovel right now, then left them in the orginal place for a few weeks so they could grow some new roots inside the cut area, then transplanted the cannas to their new bed?

I'm no expert though. Hope someone more knowledgeable answers.

Bookmark   January 11, 2011 at 12:14PM
roselee z8b S.W. Texas

Ladysmith, welcome to the Texas forum!

It's hard to hurt cannas. They can ge dug up now and separated before planting in another spot. You can just break the the corms apart with no harm done.

I've moved the corms at all times of the year without a problem. If moved in high summer the foliage springs right back. If moved in winter they will lie dormant until warm weather. The stores sell canna corms either laying loose in big boxes or in plastic bags.

Another tip: when a stalk is done blooming just cut it back to the bottom and the corm will put up another blooming stalk. I love cannas!

Bookmark   January 11, 2011 at 1:15PM
ladysmith94(TX)