Morning Glory ID

VineWorld(8a)March 6, 2013

I thought I planted Coral Vine, but it obviously isn't. I vaguely remember possibly planting an MG seed here, but, that doesn't really matter. It's obviously an MG, but i'm not good with dwarf varities so I was wondering if anyone could pin point it and also whether it set seeds easily/needs a cross pollinator... As they seem to never set seed as they fall off.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
VineWorld(8a)

Here is the bud.

Bookmark   March 6, 2013 at 8:49PM
VineWorld(8a)

The Leaf.

Bookmark   March 6, 2013 at 8:50PM
VineWorld(8a)

The stem and body.

Bookmark   March 6, 2013 at 8:52PM
VineWorld(8a)

Unfurling Flower.

Bookmark   March 6, 2013 at 8:53PM
VineWorld(8a)

Flower tube and side view.

Bookmark   March 6, 2013 at 8:54PM
VineWorld(8a)

Central stem.

Bookmark   March 6, 2013 at 8:57PM
gerris2

That is a beautiful Ipomoea nil. What a lovely pink flower, and awesome photo set documenting all the characters you need to identify it. It's a knockout beauty!

Bookmark   March 6, 2013 at 9:40PM
VineWorld(8a)

Yes Gerris, it sure is a really beautiful flower.

Bookmark   March 6, 2013 at 11:40PM
ron_convolvulaceae

Vineworld - You mentioned :

"It's obviously an MG, but i'm not good with dwarf varities so I was wondering if anyone could pin point it and also whether it set seeds easily/needs a cross pollinator... As they seem to never set seed as they fall off."

Thanks for your questions and photos as they are very helpful.

Joseph is right in that the species is Ipomoea nil.

I will attempt to go a bit further and add that what you have there is typically known as "Carol" or "Kawaii" which is available in a variety of colors.