Grape Trellis Questions

jeph36May 9, 2007

Hello,

I am a newbie to grape planting and we need to put up a trellis. We planted 3 grapes in a line each 8' apart. At each grape we placed a metal fence post for the main "stalk" to climb. We have planned to put a 4"x4" post 4' on either side of each grape (total of 4 posts). The east end of the bed butts up to a concrete slab, so that corner post is unable to have any room outside the bed to make a good corner post (either a 2-post-with-angled-brace or a dead-man anchor). Here are some ideas I had that might allow it to work for my setup, so please comment on them if you think they will/will not work for my needs:

1) Use a "pipe" or some sort of solid "tube" as the top trellis line (possibly electrical conduit?). This would not pull like a wire would and thus I thought I could get away with no corner bracing. Can grapes grab something that big? What will work in the Iowa weather?

2) Use wire like a normal trellis, but use an inside angled brace (e.g. a 2"x4"). Something like this: http://images.scrippsweb.com/HGTV/2004/07/29/gby906_2l_e.jpg

Will something like that be strong enough? What should I use as the "base" of that angled piece? How far from the grape should I keep the bottom of that angled piece?

3) Concrete/gravel/etc the post hole for that corner post. Will that provide enough anchor to keep it from sagging too much?

4) Other ideas?

Remember that I should have support every 4 feet (the main posts and the fence posts at the plants). It is possible that in a couple years we may tear out that concrete pad anyway, but it is not in this year's plans.

Thanks for your help.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
prysson

jeph36,

Hi there. I think you might be doing a bit of overkill here.

In my vineyard We have 300 foot rows with 40 vines in a row. We only have a support post every 20 feet.

We also angle our endposts outward to resists the tension of the wire.