tomato leaves turn yellow and purple

karthikasJune 23, 2012

Dear all,

I am an amateur gardener. I have some pots in the balcony and I grow flowers and herbs like mint. I do not have problem with them. A month back, I planted some tomato seeds (just the seeds from store-bought tomatoes) in a pot and used the normal soil got from a supermarket. It says that nutrients in it are sufficient for 4-6 weeks. But, the supermarket lady warned me that it will not be sufficient for plants yielding vegetables and fruits and said I need to top up with fertilisers later.

The tomatoes plants grew; there were many plants in the same pot and all was well till a couple of days back. The leaves at the bottom of the plants started turning yellow. Very soon, the whole plant had a purplish hue. And the underneath of the leaves (veins) turned dark purple. A couple of leaves have shrivelled up almost died. In some places, I can see yellow and purple patches. I googled for info, but I am unable to decide whether it is a phosphorous (or some other) deficiency or a disease. Could anyone here kindly help me?

The temperature here varies between 10 and 25 deg C now.

Thanks in advance for all your replies!

Karthika

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
claydirt(5)

My recollection is that phosphorous sounds right for purple. And perhaps nitrogen for yellow. Determinate tomatoes get to be big plants. Indeterminate tomatoes make determinate tomatoes look small (7 to 10 feet). The "pot in a pot" looks small for a big plant. I'm thinking you need to fertilize.

Add some NPK, add some mirco-nutrients if possible, fish/kelp fertilizer is good. Micro-organisms in the soil is good.

Compose is good. Tomatoes can be buried deep, the underground stem grows roots. So at a minimum you can toss a bunch on top next time before you water. If you are going to transplant, mix it in the hole.