Are this plants allowed?

rosfromcroatiaNovember 15, 2009

Hello

I am a newbie in vermicomposting, but willing to learn.

I live in the submediterranean climate here, and have some plants in my garden which I don't know if the worms will accept. I thought of grinding the branches/leaves/whatever and precompost them for a few weeks before adding them to the worm bed.

I am not sure of their English names, so I will post the Latin ones:

Laurus nobilis (very aromatic)

Nerium oleander (I know it's poisonous for humans)

Prunus laurocerasus

Hedera helix (and other hedera species)

Seaweed - I guess I have to "wash" the salt out, after that it should be fine.

I might get to other "unsure" material, and I hope I can ask for opinions again.

Thanks

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
rickd59

Hello rosfromcroatia. I think worms will eat any kind of decaying plant material, including the types you listed. I even feed mine citrus and pineapple, which others do not recommend, and they are thriving.

However, yard wastes are generally better to compost in an outdoors, microbial-type compost heap, while kitchen wastes can be composted either in worm bins or outdoors. I don't have space for a traditional compost heap so I deal with yard trimmings similar to yours by shredding them with my lawnmower and then using them as mulch.

Hope this helps.

Bookmark   November 15, 2009 at 8:04PM
11otis

I have read somewhere, not sure if it was this forum or another one, NOT to feed the worms oleander, ANY part of it.
I don't have oleander, but I have Datura, also called Angel's Trumpet, Brugmansia, and any part of it is also poisonous. I do not put that in my worm bin, but the backyard composter. The volume of it is so much larger, but I still do not feed the worms with compost from there.

Bookmark   November 16, 2009 at 6:08PM
rosfromcroatia

Useful information about the oleander. I'll keep that in mind.