What causes Megablooms?

booberry85(5)July 19, 2008

I've been growing tomatoes for 7 or 8 years now. This is the first year that I've ever had megablooms. I know that they are several blooms fused together, but what causes it? Are there certain weather conditions or soil conditions that promote megablooms?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
technologygarden

I've seen this too, maybe global warming? LOL - seems that this year as well I have had many of them....question is....do they create Mega Tomatoes? Or should I just pick them off? I'm using aeroponics to grow my tomatoes this year, not soil.

Bookmark   July 19, 2008 at 9:01AM
cyumickey(Sunset 18)

Is this a megabloom?

There is also this one, that looks different than above, but is still larger than the regular flowers

did anyone ever figure out why the occur?

Bookmark   July 31, 2008 at 5:26PM
reaverg(7b)

Still no reason I can find. Today I found a megabloom on my third variety, making it all three beefsteak varieties that have produced them at least once. I do find it odd that this is the first year you and I have seen these problems though.

Bookmark   July 31, 2008 at 5:39PM
cyumickey(Sunset 18)

it's so weird I went to check my plants like I do every morning and saw these. I don't know if I'm just more conscious of them since they have been talked about so much lately, though. This plant is momotaro, and it hasn't been producing much. I think I only have 3 or 4 tomatoes on it right now. It flowers enough, I think, they just don't pollinate. Not sure if the megabloom will be pollinated or not...

Bookmark   July 31, 2008 at 5:55PM
tomahtohs

From what I've heard, Megablooms are mainly caused by genetics. Big tomato types are more likely to produce "Megablooms", or double, triple flowers etc. I've heard it can also be caused by overly wet weather conditions, but I'm not sure about that.