Brandywine Tomatoes

DJ1975September 2, 2013

The best tomatoes for slicing and salads have to be the Bandywine heirloom. I have been gardening for 40 years and never had a tomato as good as the Brandywine, blows the doors off Beefsteaks. So much for genetic engineering.
PS These toms were as big as 8 " diameter.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
fireduck(10a)

D...my Brandywine is very good....but my Cherokee Purple is better. Keep in mind there are several varieties of "Brandywine". ie. Sudduth's, Red, Pink, etc

Bookmark   September 2, 2013 at 10:32AM
labradors_gw

That's most interesting fireduck. Since I haven't grown Brandywine in years, but LOVE the taste, I was wondering how it would compare to Cherokee Purple which is amazing this year.

I think that Rose de Bern tastes even better, but I just wish it hadn't suffered so badly from BER when none of my other plants did!

Linda

Bookmark   September 2, 2013 at 12:47PM
edweather(Zone 5a/b Central NY)

8" in diameter? Hummm.........photo please :-)

Bookmark   September 2, 2013 at 6:19PM
hudson___wy(3)

Interesting - having just taken the taste test for both of these varieties - Brandywine and Cherokee Purple.........although they both have great flavor and I plan to plant them both in our GH next year.........my vote goes to Cherokee Purple!

Bookmark   September 2, 2013 at 10:52PM
seysonn(8a WA/HZ 1)

I have had BW few years ago. I admit that it tasted great. Those days I read a lot that BW does not like hot weather. At the time I was gardening in GA(hot summers). I planted it in a partly shaded area. It did ok. Not too good.
This year being in the Pacific NW, I thought it should do well here. Thats why I planted one. It has been a disappointment. It has been VERY slow to begin with. Then it has 3 or 4 tomatoes all together and the plant is over 7 ft tall.
So, it is a scratch. Next year I will plant Cherokee Purple instead. I have had CP and I liked it too.

Bookmark   September 3, 2013 at 3:21AM