Grafted heirloom tomatoes

dirtygardener73(9a)September 29, 2011

I write for a living, and today I had to write two articles on grafting tomatoes. I was fascinated! It seems it is very easy to do yourself, but I looked at prices for the rootstock and YIKES! $8 + postage for 10 Maxifort seeds! No wonder the plants are so expensive.

I was wondering about grafted heirlooms. I live in North Central FL, and we have horrible nematodes, plus about every soil disease you could name. I love Cherokee Purple tomatoes, but they usually don't bear well and die rather quickly. I was thinking maybe I'd graft a few on Maxifort and see how they did.

Has anyone done any grafting of heirloom scions, and if you did, how did it turn out?

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
dickiefickle(5B Dousman,Wi.)

Container grow is an option

Bookmark   September 30, 2011 at 4:04AM
terrybull

you can find root stock seeds alot cheaper than that. johnnys seed has them for 22$ for 50 seeds. and im sure there are cheaper places. when you can create your own plant for less then a dollar why not.

Bookmark   September 30, 2011 at 9:23AM
simmran1

dirty,

The nematode problem will occur on grafted plants or regular seedlings planted where these critters lay in wait. The best bet is to acquire growbags or self watering containers, The soil medium must be isolated from the nematode infested soil.
And so a purchased soil mix will be necessary for success.
I use the (reusable growbags) in Iowa for seasons with too much rain as they drain out through the pores, but a bagged soil mix is used nonetheless. Gardener's supply has the best, though imitations are available on Ebay. -Randy

Here is a link that might be useful: growbags

Bookmark   October 4, 2011 at 2:06AM
beth11(z7 southern MD)