Plant dying but lots of green tomatoes

lovinliOctober 2, 2012

Hi, it's my first time planting a single beefsteak tomato plant. It did beautifully all summer, grew huge with many fruits (about 30). The fruit blossomed and ripened very slowly and we've only picked about 4 to date. Now the plant is starting to die. I don't think it is blight, but maybe septoria (leaves are spotty, turn yellow then dry up). Since it's fall, not sure it will help to treat it with fungicide at this point. My question is there are still about 25 healthy green tomatos on the vines, some small, some large -- what should I do? Should I let them keep ripining until I see the individual vine turn yellow? Or, should I start picking them and let them ripen inside? If I leave them on the vine much longer, will I risk losing them all? Will try to post some pics later.

Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
carolyn137(z4/5 NY)

First, look at the thread below with a title of green tomatoes won't ripen inside the house, for some more info.

No, it's too late to use a fungicide and yes, many of us have plants that have either Septoria or Early Blight, or both, or any combo of those and throw in some of the bacterial foliage diseases as well.

Starting tomorrow the weather is supposed to warm up for a few days in our area, and as long as there are no deep freezes expected I'd leave those green ones on the vine, b'c if you can get them to blush a bit it will easier to harvest them and take them inside to ripen up.

But please do read the thread I referred you to above.

Hope that helps.

Carolyn

Bookmark   October 2, 2012 at 2:54PM
lovinli