Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mindyjwrtr

Raised/Hanging ideas?

mindyjwrtr
18 years ago

I have been growing vegetables for a couple of years in a small patch in my backyard. I have a heart condition which causes me to get "winded" if I bend down (weeding/etc) too much, and I would also like to increase capacity without digging up more grass.

I was interested creating some hanging, raised, or tiered beds. I was thinking of staggering cinderblocks in a strawberry pot-type formation, or something similar.

The vegetables I usually grow are tomatoes, carrots, peas, cucumbers, cucuzza, peppers, and assorted herbs.

Any other ideas or photos to share?

Please help -I'm stumped!

Comments (7)

• ntt_hou
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Last year, I grew tomatoes in 10-gallon pots with great success. It also eliminated diseases.

If you're interested, you may want to visit your local nurseries and see if they can sell you black plastic containers. Those ones that you normally see plants/trees potted in. My local nursery would sell them to me for a few dollars each. I just bought a couple of 15-gals. pot for $5 each.

• mindyjwrtr
    Original Author
    18 years ago

That sounds good. Sort of what I had going a couple of years ago... my tomatoes, peas, cucumbers, and small peppers did great in the large containers, while the strawberries and zucchinis got mildewy. Beets also did well, and I yeilded a few tiny carrots in them.

Another reason I wanted to "build up" is to add visual interest at eye-level. Maybe staggerring the big 15 gal. buckets will look cool, too. We'll see. I've still got a lot of work to do back there.

Every year I have grander and more intricate ideas for garden plans, but I always end up with the same makeshift garden. LOL

• kris_gardener
    18 years ago