Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tcon83

Raised garden bed on concrete. bad?

tcon83
10 years ago

Im new to gardening, and i have a 6' x 10' concrete slab in my backyard from an old shed that has been since demolished. I would like to build a raised bed garden on this but have the below questions. any advice / tips would be greatly appreciated.
1. how about drainage? do i just put the soil right on top on the concrete? or do i put stone down first to allow drainage?
2. Do i have to worry about anything harmful leaching up into the soil from the concrete slab?
3. do i have to put a plastic membrane down on the concrete slab and on the wood walls of the bed ?
4. how deep of a bed should it be? (will be growing tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers etc)

Comments (3)

• Pyewacket
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Plants put down 90% of their root system in the top 12" of soil. I have found no benefit from raised beds deeper than 15" (of growing medium/soil mix, exclusive of any drainage underlayment). 12" to 14" of actual growing medium will be fine. You want it to be 12" deep AFTER settling - my 15" usually settles down to around 12" to 14" actual depth by planting time.

If paint and other yard chemicals (gas, lawnmower, oil, etc) were stored in the now-demolished shed, there is always the chance that some of that was spilled on the concrete slab. I wouldn't feel comfortable growing on that slab or near it without some soil testing.