Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chicoart99

doing a thesis project based on hort therapy,please give some fee

chicoart99
16 years ago

Hello everyone,

I am student at the University of Illinois and I am majoring in industrial design. Everysummer I help out with landscaping and for my design thesis I wanted to do something dealing with horticulture. I decided to try and do something with horticulture therapy and base it on that.

I've been trying to do some research to see what kind of products are out there.And i've been asking a few people in wheelchairs who like to garden. I wish there were an accessible garden around but there isn't :( .

Well , for my thesis I wanted to design a type of gardening table/raised bed table that would be easily assembled and put togehter by a person in a wheelchair. The people who i talked to said that they like raised beds but the problem is that they have to have someone come and build it for them. So i wanted to design a table/raised bed that would be very lightweight pretty much preassembled and so that it folded up easily so that they could buy it themselves and do it themselves. I have not found anything out there like that.

just wanted to know if you guys thought it was a good idea or if you guys know if similar things, i can explain more if I wasnt clear enought

thank you !

Comments (2)

• Belgianpup
    16 years ago

Just my opinion...

It would be wonderful if something like that existed, but it would be difficult to imagine: if it were lightweight and easy to assemble, how sturdy could it be? Soak some one-cubic-foot bags of potting soil and lift them. They're awfully heavy. Adding quality nutrients via compost would add to the weight. I just don't see how it could be done.

But if you could do it, I would hope that nursing homes would be the first ones in line to buy them. That is usually an agonizingly boring existence.