Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenblue_gw

Back problems and gardening

gardenblue
18 years ago

Hi! Am new to gardenweb, and found this topic. I am a nurse, and have had back problems off and on for years. Have been off work for 3 weeks, and am feeling discouraged about being able to garden and still keep my job. I LOVE gardening, and have several garden areas in my yard. Am trying more containers this year, but I have a lot of maintainence with my perennials, etc. I am single, and can't depend on family to help. I would appreciate suggestions on how to ease back strain. I use a garden buddy scooter and a 5 gallon bucket with seat to sit on. Yet I still have to reach and bend. Am working on exercises for abs, back and thighs that physical therapist has had me doing. Any suggestions for long handled pruners, grass clippers, etc. Or how to apply Round up type products with out bending over? Thanks for any ideas!

Comments (25)

• eibren
    18 years ago

I noticed the other day that when I lean over from the bench I usually use that a disk in my back slipped slightly out of place; then my back bothered me for several days.

It seemed to be connected with both the height of the stool and the reaching to the side to pick up gallon containers of soil to complete plantings.

If there was a pivoting chair with wheels, but lower, to use in the garden I think it would be a great help.

Some of the office supply stores have periodic sales of quite inexpensive office chairs; if nothing can be found in garden shops maybe something like that would be helpful to you.

(I am very fond of rolling office chairs because I use one in the kitchen; however, I need mine to be higher than it is)