Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rwh1_gw

Gardening Queries?

rwh1
21 years ago

Hi, Im a Product designer carrying out an MSc at Teesside University. For my major project I am concentrating on the garden, particularly the problems people have when gardening. I dont have a specific product in mind to design and was wondering if any of you could help.

I would like to know of any problems you have when gardening, any jobs you dont like doing or jobs you struggle with. Any tools that are difficult to use? e.t.c

Also i'd be interested in the activities you do enjoy in the garden, what is it about them you like?

I would be more than grateful if anyone could help,

yours sincerely,

Rob H.

Comments (6)

• mtgirl
    21 years ago

Email me if you like. I have two bad knees and difficulty gardening.

• Belgianpup
    21 years ago

On one of the other posts in this section, a person was describing his/her problem:

"Due to back problems I have trouble with weeding. I can do it lying down on my side (dirty, but ok!) but sometimes when I am really bad I can't get up!
    I already have a reacher device which I use to pick up objects, etc. If it would work I would use it for what I'm about to describe, I would - but it won't. It's not strong enough.

What I need is an object that has about a 3 foot handle (I'm short:) and a claw end that will grab a weed and pull it out of the ground. None of the "gadgets" out there work for me. The garden claw is great but not what I need for this. The Weed Hound won't work because I have serious balance problems and fall over using it.

The only thing I can visualize is the apparatus that is used on a wringer sponge mop - you know how it grips and locks and won't let go? That's what I need. But I need an idea for the "business end" to grip the weed with."

• ned_rag
    21 years ago