Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
luna_llena_feliz

Great Container Gardens

luna_llena_feliz
16 years ago

What are some of your best accessible container gardens? I have seen some great ideas in various messages but I thought it would be good to try and get it all in one spot.

I like the idea of using odd objects as container gardens like old wheelbarrows or wagons, galvanized livestock water tanks or even old bathtubs. They (1) take up a generous portion of space, (2) are as interesting as the flowers and plants they house and (3) can be purchased second hand or found free via something like freecycle.com. I also like to use old chairs as "stands" for pots. There is something about old, weathered wood or a wooden chair painted a bright color that looks so nice in the garden.

What do you use or think would make a great container garden?

Comments (18)

• oakleif
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Since i'm just getting started all i've got is pots, but am looking seriously at a couple rotted out stumps of pine that is solid rich pine and will last a century. DD has a wheelbarrow with minature roses and an old double square wash containers on the original stand (the rub board kind) that she fills with annuals.
    vickie

• valentinetbear
    16 years ago

When I was young, my grandmother "planted" an old rowboat in her yard and filled it with sand, for our "sandbox." Ever since, I've drempt of one or two rowboats in my backyard (yard's not big enough, and getting them in it is impossible) - one for tomatoes and one as a flower bed.

We must all grow up, but maturing is not mandatory! With that, the basic theme of my garden is teddy bears and child like wonderment. (I just finished my first topiary -- a peat moss filled Teddy Bear with ivy growing on him. If anyone knows how to care for such a huge "creature," I've posted some questions on the topiary board, but haven't had time to develop pictures yet. LOL)