Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mtsmith_gw

Planting an Enabling or Sensory Garden

mtsmith
18 years ago

I am a teacher at a school for the multiple handicapped and medically fragile children of my district. I want to design gardens that can be totally accessible to all of our children. Many of the children at the school are in wheelchairs and have multiple disabilities. I want to build gardens that target children who are visually, auditorally, and physically impaired. I am in need of suggestions for plants, shrubs and trees that would work in the gardens. I do know that I want raised gardens, a water feature, a pergola, and shade trees. An outdoor classroom that enhances the skills that are work on: using texture, color and aromatics would make this a successful project. Please give suggestions on a variety of plants, shrubs and trees that would be ideal for the gardens.

Comments (7)

• sylviatexas1
    18 years ago

Texture:
    Lamb's Ears have soft, soft, fuzzy leaves in a silvery green color , just wonderful to the touch.
    People used to use them like band-aids, a good thing to experiment with.

Chocolate mint:
    When you brush your fingers across it, it smells just like a York Peppermint Patty.

Both these plants are easy to grow, thrive in full sun, & spread readily, so you'll soon have some to share.

(I like it when kids can take a plant home with some sort of reasonable chance of having it survive!)

Herbs are good, too:
    Rosemary is sort-of pine-scented.
    It likes full sun, excellent drainage, & dry-ish soil.

Culinary sage smells wonderful, like a kitchen at the holidays! It has an interesting texture, too.

Rosemary is evergreen, & I think the sage is, too.

For summer color in big, easy-to-see "blobs", you can't beat hibiscus & cannas.
    Look for dwarf cannas to put the color at a child's level.

People talk bad about mimosa trees, but I think they're the perfect child's tree:
    I used to climb ours when I was about 3!