Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joannclark_gw

Designing Products for Accesable Gardening!

JoannClark
19 years ago

Hello i am a third year student studying product design. Our latest project involves the garden and i have desided to go down the route of accesable gardening particualy for arthritus sufferers and wheelchair bound gardeners. I would greatly appreciate any input you all can give into:

problems in the garden

Whats wrong with existing products

how you think they could be improved

ideas for products that would make life easier

and so

on....

Thankyou for taking time to read this and any comments thoughts or general ideas no matter how big or small would be fantastic

thankyou jo-ann

Comments (9)

• enchantedplace
    19 years ago

My suggestion would be to focus on long, light weight, easy to grasp, handles and durable sharp materials for the tools. Some of the most useful tools that I use are a scuffle hoe (shaped like a stirrup) and a pointed hoe that is sharp on both sides. These are good for weeding and light cultivating. Also something that would be useful for picking up the weeds such as a narrow rake or pitch fork. Tools that one can use without bending or kneeling /or/ would provide adequate legnth for a wheel chair bound gardener. You might also focus on tools that could be used by a gardener who has use of only one hand and provide a means of grasping a tool with one hand. good luck . EP

• Yellow22
    19 years ago

Those plactic watering cans with a wide handle. Wrong. I don't think it's grippy enough. It's just too much and slips. The old fashion wire handle with a wooden cover will work for anyone. A large spongy cover could be added. I think arthric peoples hands are strong just not quick with all that much movement and power to shift and lift so a longer sout and a flatter well helps balance.