Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hardee38

I need something to keep me busy

hardee38
13 years ago

I'm already in my 70's and life isn't as fast paced as it used to be. I have a lot of time on my hands now days and could use something to distract myself from the rut of everyday life. I am not an expert gardener by any means, so I'd like to start with something small and extremely manageable. What do you suggest?

Comments (24)

• daffodillady
    13 years ago

I garden in pots and totes. I use my pots for flowers and grow tomatoes, peppers, and cukes in the totes. I started with perenials like daylilies and irises, but found that I like a variety of annuals for quick colorful satisfaction. Marigolds, vinca, pansies and petunias are (almost) never fail flowers for me. I am becoming fascinated with the hardy sedum and sempervivums- especially the rosette-shaped varieties. Winter sowing seeds is a blast on a cold blustery snowy day! I hope to be able to learn to make the garden junk totem ladies some day. I also think it would be fun to learn to paint rocks, and make twig furniture and trellises/arbors. And...and...and...so much to fun stuff to do...so little time (-;

• vetivert8
    13 years ago

Now that depends whether you are planting into real dirt - or you live in an appartment many feet above the ground. ;-)))

It also depends on whether you like to fuss with your plants or not.

A possibility is some of the friendlier cacti. They don't all have mean spines and many of them flower when they're quite young. They don't need much care over the winter but they do appreciate being watered and fed and given fresh mix to live in over the summer.

They can be addictive, if you know you have 'collector' tendencies.

I like Lithops and Dinteranthos and Astrophytum. The Cactus forum here is pretty friendly, too.