Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
firehoney

I would love some input from everyone.......

firehoney
20 years ago

Hello, all!

I am a manager of a garden center, and would love to make my store more accessible and user-friendly for people who have disabilities of all kinds.

Could all of you give me some feedback on your ideas, experiences (good, bad and ugly) on shopping in a garden center?

Ehat would make it easier for you?

What has made it difficult for you?

Thanks in advance!

Deb

Comments (29)

• Redthistle
    20 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

For individuals who have trouble walking/standing for long periods (painful feet, sore hips, bad backs, arthritis, etc.), seating in various areas is helpful. It would also be nice to indicate the seating isn't only for display purposes. I have curvature of the spine and sometimes would like to sit when my hip hurts. My mother had burrs on her feet, and she also appreciated a place to rest while shopping. My mother-in-law with arthritis also likes to sit occasionally while shopping.

For those who don't see well or who are in wheelchairs, aisles/paths that are large enough to walk down without running into merchandise helps. (My husband who is blind hates to walk down cramped aisles where he thinks he might run into something or knock something over.)

For those who don't see well, large, level steps are helpful in areas where one must go up/down. We recently purchased a large amount of rock for hardscaping, but walking in the rock yard was dangerous as their steps were crumbling/uneven and there were no railings to hold onto.

As in any store, having interested, knowledgeable staff assist in finding merchandise is always helpful. When we've had staff assist us, we've sometimes had a hard time keeping up with staff members who want to show us where the merchandise is. It would help if the staff would slow down since it's hard to chase after someone when you don't see well or your hip hurts.