Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
radovan_gw

To All Adenium experts

radovan
11 years ago

To all of you who are following adenium soil mix recepies how fast are your Adeniums growing. For example : adeniums 2 to 3 year old how big are they.

example: Gritty Mix did it speed up adenium growth or just it's adenium survival soil mix.

Comments (6)

• rcharles_gw (Canada)
    11 years ago

I am not an expert only an avid Adenium lover and enthusiast.
    My oldest seedlings are 12 - 18 mths. old. They very alot which is what I expected. They vary from 8"-12" and most of the shorter ones have the largest caudex starting.
    The Gritty Mix, Al's and many of the Adenium Group mixes are all similar with differences depending on what everyone has available to them.
    The Gritty Mix used I would not say is expected to speed up growth rate.
    It would depend on what you used to fertilize them with and the conditions given for growing.
    I have mine under cover in full sun. Then I can control their watering.
    I would say it is a survival soil, because it gives these plants what is needed for them to thrive and keep healthy.
    My thoughts,
    Happy growing
    Rick

• averil
    11 years ago

Hi peeps can you please enlighten me
    Ive been watching a video on youtube where a lady is potting up a dr. She placed what appeared to be a round plastic disc under the plant. What is the purpose of this? Is it to encourage the roots to grow outwards rather than downwards?. I couldnt understand the language so I was left a wee bit mystified
    Thanks again x

• 54641210d
    11 years ago

I've heard of people placing bowls under adeniums when repotting, to encourage the roots to grow up and surface out of the soil.

But I'm not sure what a flat circle would do in that case. Maybe if you link us the video, we can figure out what's going on.

Josette

• radovan
    Original Author
    11 years ago