Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peaches20

What is the best fertilizer

peaches20
11 years ago

Hi,

Can anyone tell me what's the best fertilizer to use? My desert rose has not grown much since last year and I want to stimulate growth.

Thanks,

Nancy

Comments (21)

• Marie Tran
    11 years ago

Nanny, I use Osmocote for all of my desert rose. This slow release help me big time with my collection. Don't use anything that is fast release. I made a deadly mistake last year by using colorburst. Colorburst is very good fertilizer, but not for desert rose. They are very good for crown of thorns plants.
    Marie

• mksmth zone 7a Tulsa Oklahoma
    11 years ago

Marie

Just the regular osmocote? How about the one with calcium and magnesium? Are water soluble OK like Miracle grow All Purpose. sorry Im new to DR's dont want to burn mine up.

dont mean to hijack either.

Thanks
    mike

• karyn1
    11 years ago

In addition to fertilizer I use CalMag Plus and Pro-Tekt. I use some Osmocote at the beginning of the growing season but I also use water soluble fertilizer (various brands) throughout (except while dormant) and B1 and/or Superthrive when I transplant, prune and at the beginning of the growing season to help them "wake up". I treat them similar to my plumerias but I feed my plumerias more.

• bronxfigs: New York City/7b
    11 years ago

Hello there Peaches...

Are you absolutely sure your culture is correct? Fertilizers will not correct the limiting effects of compromised culture.

Assuming everything is adjusted for optimal growth, and you still think it's a fertilizer question, I'd go on these forums and search for a man named "tapla" and read everything that this man has posted on the fertilizers used for containerized plants,... and why plant growth can be limited by using the wrong formulas and incorrect N-P-K ratios. He backs up his opinions with good, solid science. Of course, draw your own conclusions.