Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
julie2639

Growing seedlings together

Julie2639
10 years ago

I am new to Adeniums and new to this forum, but I am thrilled to find a source for information!

One of my first questions is what happens when two seedlings grow together? If they are different colors, do they remain the separate colors? What size caudex would I expect? I assume this is not a great option since I have not been able to find any information on this.

Thanks for sharing any information, I really appreciate your experience!

Comments (7)

• rcharles_gw (Canada)
    10 years ago

When you say seedlings grown together in same pot, but as separate plants?
    This is not an issue unless they are from different parentage and you want to document growth/flower etc. when old enough.
    If you speak of conjoined seedlings? I would emagine it may depend on whether they where from the same seed embryo and then it would be anyone's quess.
    Caudex size is not guaranteed. Arabicums will give larger caudex growth.

None of the above are guarantees and with these Adeniums, that is what is truly what makes it a see what you get. I am still waiting to see what my young plants will give for blooms. As for caudex size, they all vary in many ways.
    Hope this helps somewhat.
    Enjoy growing them.
    Rick

• Julie2639
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Sorry! I wasn't clear, I've been wondering about this so much, I had tunnel vision. yes, I meant growing two unrelated seedlings together until they are conjoined. The concept of grafting made me wonder about them growing and joining. I also bought some seedlings and a second, newer sprout is emerging in a couple of containers. I think either they will grow together or perhaps the newly emerged seedling will not make it.

Thanks for your input!

• 11otis
    10 years ago