Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laurieinphx

Experiment with rotting adenium

laurieinphx
9 years ago

Hello everyone:

In March, sad to say, one of my first adeniums developed root rot (I am still learning). I cut the entire caudex off, dusted with cinnamon and replanted on top of Styrofoam disc. Almost three months later I have roots! I replanted today.

Has any one tried this? Do the roots thicken?

Laurie

Comments (16)

• ginger9899
    9 years ago

Congratulations on saving your Adenium Laurie! Very sad about the rot, but at least you are enabling it to carry on and have an awesome experiment on your hands. Unfortunately they usually say that cuttings don't develop a large caudex but I've also heard that they can, it just takes a long time. That makes sense, as I'm sure those roots will thicken and grow eventually. I have one rooted last summer that I will be watching and raising through the years myself.

Good luck!

Heather

• laurieinphx
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks Heather, good luck to you as well! Keep me posted on how it is doing.

Obscene roots? Hmmm...that will be just my luck - as payback. :)

Laurie

• Marie Tran
    9 years ago

Laurie, it takes awhile for it to develop fat caudex.
    Good luck to you.
    marie

• somalenese
    9 years ago

hi
    congratulations Laurie
    great work you have attempted ROOT TRAINING

Take care of that guy and 5 yrs from now it will become the most beautiful specimen

just watering and caudex raising to be done

I call this blessing in disguise

thanks for sharing

anurag

• laurieinphx
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks to everyone for their support. I guess patience is key!

Laurie

• Sinha
    8 years ago
    last modified: 8 years ago