Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
voodoomagic_gw

IDing adeniums

Voodoomagic
10 years ago

Hello everyone , I am new to adeniums and I just bought some seeds that I will sow once I receive them.

is there a way to ID species just by leaf alone ?

Comments (11)

• greenclaws UK, Zone 8a
    10 years ago

Hello there and welcome to the forum, I hope you enjoy taking part!
    Some varieties even I can ID from their leaves!!

Arabicums for instance 'tend' to grow rounder, larger and thicker leaves than Obesums, plus a very stout and wider caudex/stem even when just germinated.

Somalense 'usually' produce longer, more lance shaped leaves often with prominent white veins. their stem is long and thin with a conical base to it at later stages.

Obesums have leaves that are neither round or long, they are in between in the main. Caudexes can vary greatly.

Of course there will always be some that don't conform due to their own genetic makeup. Anyway, this is what I have observed from my own experience in growing the 3 types mentioned above. Give seedlings chance to grow a couple of sets minimum of true leaves to see the real differences between them. There are other species but I dont know about those, hopefully someone else will come in with more info for you.
    Gill UK

• Voodoomagic
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks Gill

I have picture of a plant said to be adenium Obesum but to me it looks different. I attached picture. This is not my picture but I bought this plant and I am waiting for it to come in the mail :)

• Marie Tran
    10 years ago

Voodoo, this is not adenium obesum, this is adenium arabicum plant.

Marie

• kodom087 z9a
    10 years ago

I agree with Marie that it is arabicum.

Kirk

• greenclaws UK, Zone 8a
    10 years ago

Yes that is most definitely an arabicum, and a lovely looking one too! It's got a very typical arabicum shape, the wide stout base with that particular arrangement of branches is a dead giveaway.