Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jv44

New guy

jv44
10 years ago

Hi all, my name is Mike and I'm just getting into growing adeniums after years of growing cacti and some pachypodiums. I have but one solitary adenium plant which I posted a pic of. I got it on Ebay a couple years ago, supposedly a seedling of Black Fire. After repotting it last fall it responded well this spring and tried to bloom. However the flower has never gotten past what you see in this photo--and it has stayed just like this for about 2 weeks now. It won't shrivel and die....yet it refuses to open up. It also has 2 more very small flower buds that seem to not be getting any larger over the past couple of weeks either. No clue what the problem is--just going to keep watering like normal...

I also have a small batch of a. obesum seedlings that just came up last week and I've ordered seeds of several kinds of arabicums and some Thai socotranum. Even though I knnow I'll be buying a few adenium plants in order to get specific flower colors, there's someting to be said for the satisfaction of growing your own plants from seed to blooming size.

Anyway, nice to be here and I hope to learn lots about these amazing plants.

Mike C.

Comments (5)

• ginger9899
    10 years ago

Welcome Mike. I can't help you but your Adenium looks and is acting just like my King Violet of the same age. I hope someone with knowledge has an idea as to why the flowers get huge but won't open. Good luck.

-Heather

• jv44
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for the welcome Heather....I'm not overly worried about mine--it's definitely healthy so whatever it is, it's a minor issue. The good thing is: when I carefully roll back a petal, it's red with a darker edge and the throat is yellow--no pink to be seen anywhere!