Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
l_urch

Newbie question on caudex size

L_urch
10 years ago

Hey guys and gals I've been lurking around here for awhile looking for a reason to post. I'm new to growing Adenium O's (or growing anything for that matter). I'm about a month in and have about 15 little guys about to get there 2nd set of true leaves. I'm sure the topics been covered 1000 times but I was wondering if caudex size is mainly genetics or if there was any way to help the little guys plump up? Any of you experts have any knowledge on the matter or some websites to read over?

Comments (5)

• irun5k
    10 years ago

In my experience it is genetic. You can help them along, of course, by raising them once they are a year old or so.... but in the end they are going to do what they're going to do :)

I've treated various seedlings the same exact way and some end up being nicer than others. Hardiness will vary as well, at least in my experience.

Good luck!

• Pagan
    10 years ago

Hi, welcome to the forum!

The caudex is genetic--adeniums evolved in dry climates so they store water in their trunk and roots. As you've probably read somewhere else, you can grow them from cuttings but they do not develop the characteristic caudex. However, if you grow a cutting long enough, it will continue to develop larger and larger roots. Lifting just exposes the roots gradually but the growth happens under the soil. When the skin on the root hardens from exposure, growth probably slows down--I hope someone with more experience picks up this thread because I'm curious about this too.

My sister has this adenium, grown from a cutting. She lifted it a few days ago and exposed two big roots that were significantly larger than the trunk (which has no caudex).

{{gwi:345055}}