Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
trip_kc

Arabicum or Thai Socotranum

trip_kc
10 years ago

Hi all
I Want to add few Thai soco to my collection but got confused.
Don't understand difference between arabicums and thai socos.
is it flower colour/form or caudex shape?If flower colour is same can not we train arabicums for soco look?
even more confused between different varieties of thai soco.
Do the plant grown of thai soco look alike their mother plant ?
experts plz enlighten

Comments (14)

• teyo
    10 years ago

Thai socotranum is not a separate species, they're just arabicums with some selection on caudex forms. They won't come true from seed and most of the hype is bs. You can buy a plant though that was shaped and grown in a fairly nice way through ebay, just don't fall for scams like numbered edition of golden crown and whatnot.

• Voodoomagic
    10 years ago

I am no expert but have been reading heavily on thai soco and arabicums. Thai soco ( what I was told by a thai seller ) that the thai soco is a hybrid its self. He said that adenium socotranum was brought to thailand and people grew it and crossed it and they call them thai soco for that reason. I read that the species adenium socotranum rarely blooms. ( this is what prompt my question to seller about thai soco) Nurseries show thai soco in bloom and have been collecting seeds/ hybridizing. They are not as abundant like the other species or hybrids hence why the price is high.

Arabicum is a species of adenium which is from Arabia. Arabicum have fat caudex and have different forms base on location. Thai Soco have lots of root and the caudex is not so chunky like arabicum ( again basing my findings on pics I have seen )

As for the seed part ( again I am no expert ) I assume the seeds would have characteristics from mother plant. I have seen pictures at thai nurseries showing rows of same cultivar and they look pretty similar.

I hope the real experts chime in :p

• Voodoomagic
    10 years ago