Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jv44

Two arabicum seedlings

jv44
10 years ago

The two arabicum seedlings in front were sown May 28....the one on the left is supposed to be from a batch of mixed Saudi seed....the one on the right is supposed to be a Yemen arabicum and was originally in the batch you can see behind these two in the photo. I have named this one "Stumpy" as he is less than 2 cm in height....obviously a runt, he's still very healthy and fat so to me he's a keeper!

Oh....and that Saudi arabicum seedling on the left....it doesn't show from this angle of the photo but it has a bunch of tiny leaves growing where the main growing point should be and I suspect it MAY be a crest--just have to wait and see....

Mike in MN

Comments (13)

• NeonCactus
    10 years ago

Complete newb to growing adeniums so forgive my ignorance, but what's a crest?

Your seedlings are beautiful btw! Where did you get the planters?

• rcharles_gw (Canada)
    10 years ago

Nice seedlings Mike.

NeonCactus, if you speak of "crest" as for a "crested Adenium"? They are an Adenium that's growth point forms multiple growths at same point eventually forming a fan shape. I believe it is called "forma cristata'.
    Quite odd looking, to me.
    Rick

• jv44
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Rick is correct and I should have referred to it as a "crested adenium" rather than just a "crest". Crested versions of plants are usually slower growing than the normal plant--they're fairly common among cacti for that matter. Mr. Ko in Taiwan has a crested adenium that he sells seeds of called "Red Flabellate" but I don't know if they come true from seed.

Related to crested plants are "monstrose" versions where the growing points are just randomly distributed all over the plant--again, mostrose versions are fairly common among cacti. I've never heard of a "monstrose adenium" however, though that doesn't mean that they don't exist.

Mike in MN

• NeonCactus
    10 years ago