Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
11otis

Obesum vs Arabicum seedlings.

11otis
10 years ago

My obesum seedlings are short and chubby. On the other hand, the arabicums are taller and by proportion compared to the obesums, the stems don't have that fat chubby bottle shape. Is this how they are, or could my lighting be off?
This is my first time ever raising adeniums from seed, so, just wondering. I'd appreciate some input/ feed back from the more experienced growers. Thanks.

Comments (31)

• rcharles_gw (Canada)
    10 years ago

Otis,
    The majority of my Arabicums and Thai Arabicums got taller than most of my obesum also. A few of them this past summer have started to get very fat.
    Not fat and bulbous, but thick and missile shaped. Not sure if this is normal growth for them? These are two years now.
    My Arabicum 'Bouguet' are a little shorter, but still tubular, not bulbous.
    They are only 7-8 mths.
    I do not believe that it is the lighting, atleast not for mine as they all received the same.
    Rick

• 11otis
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Rick: Thank you for your input.

• Loveplants2 8b Virginia Beach, Virginia
    10 years ago

Hi Otis,...

Rick has it right.. Mine do the same..

Takes time for the Caudex to finally show its true self. Like Rick mentioned, mine are also missile shaped and are finally beginning to fatten up these are about I year old seedlings.. Arabicums and Obesums.

Mine are all grown in the same environment too.

Take care,

Laura

• 11otis
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks for your comment Laura.
    My arabicum seeds came later and from a different seller. Therefore, they're in a different tray on a different shelf.
    I'll just be patient and wait it out.

• WonderWeasel
    10 years ago