Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
isobea

First Desert Rose

isobea
9 years ago

Hi everyone,
I went to an orchid show this morning and found this wonderful desert rose at one of the vendors' stands. I've been growing orchids for almost 13 years and plumerias for 5 years, but know nothing much about desert roses. The seller told me to treat it almost like a plumeria - hardly any water in the winter, but quite a bit in the summer months.
Does anyone know if this is a named variety? It is grafted and the flowers are 2 1/2 inches in diameter.
I'd appreciate any info you can give me.
Iso

Comments (11)

• _eee
    9 years ago

Hi Isobea, I don't know much about Plumerias although I do have 4 of them in the yard and they get the same water that the rest of my yard gets but I have about 21 Adeniums and I grow them like I would a cactus. They are potted in a gritty mix and I water only when dry and feed once a month depending on what fertilizer I use. I know there are some experts in the group that can be of more help but until then I hope this will help a bit.
    Dottie

• isobea
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for your help Dottie. I'm not sure what kind of mix my plant is in, but when I got home I noticed the soil was pretty dry and pulling away from the edge of the pot, so I watered it. Also, yesterday and today were pretty hot (even here along the coast) and I thought a little extra water might help. Should I keep it out in full sun? I don't now if the seller had it in a greenhouse...
    Iso

• Loveplants2 8b Virginia Beach, Virginia
    9 years ago

Hi iso!!

So nice to see you!!!

Acclimate it from the store to full sun. Treat them like plumeria! I use a faster draining mix for mine... But just don't over water. They love the heat.

In the winter, most go dormant. They will have the spider mites as usual, but do worry when the leaves drop. I keep mine in a sunny window and give a drink once a month ( depending on the size of the container ). Little water.