Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
frank42

size pots

frank42
11 years ago

i live in Nth. Queensland Aust.

i have about 20 small seedlings that i have raised in two containers, they now have 4 true leaves and need to be planted into single pots, could someone advise me on what size pots to use.

Cheers

Frank42

Comments (18)

• averil
    11 years ago

Hi Frank, I started some seeds in June and i transferred them into 3 inch pots. I think they will be fine in there for a good while yet. Im a newbie at the adenium business though. Best you take advice from the experienced growers in here
    Kind regards
    Averil (UK)

• karyn1
    11 years ago

Averil gave you good advice. A 3" pot is plenty big for quite a while. I like using unglazed terra cotta pots for my young plants. I use decorative clay pots for larger plants that I've decided to keep.

• Marie Tran
    11 years ago

Frank, I hope your seedlings do well for you. I love adenium seedlings, these babies look very cute with chubby bodies.
    Marie

• greenclaws UK, Zone 8a
    11 years ago

Hello Frank....3 inch pots....perfect advice!
    Keep the compost free draining, they should do well for you with your tropical climate...far better than mine here anyway! They grow fastest as seedlings and that's when they develop their fat caudexes. Mature plants tend not to put on much caudex girth so the better they are grown when small/semi-mature the plumper they will end up....if you like chubbyness that is!! Good luck.
    Gill from the UK.

• sbrow156
    11 years ago

I think i heard somewhere that it didnt matter if you bought a pot too big? I may be wrong...i like unglazed terracotta pots too...i read somewhere they were good. You live in my area so just go to bunnings n see what sort of small terracotta pots they have...my seedling is in one much to big at the moment but he is doing really well so im not about to move him :)

Sarah

• rcharles_gw (Canada)
    11 years ago