Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
abraham1_gw

Adenium getting to big

abraham1
10 years ago

I have been growing a seedling from on of my other plants. I am growing it in a indoor grow tent under 18 hrs of light. It is about 20 weeks old right now and almost 4 feet tall. It is however starting to wilt over on the top. Its is otherwise healthy. I prunned the top to slow the growth but now it is branching and making the top even heavier.. I have it tied off but it is not to attractive the way its growing now. Two questions. Is there anything else I can do? Also, should I take it out of the grow lights for over winter? I did not last year but have read that they need a dormancy period. Maybe that is why it is growing to fast for its own good. Even though I want max growth should I take it out of the lights for winter?

Comments (38)

• 11otis
    10 years ago

Hi Abraham: being a newbie I am of no authority to answer any of your questions but if you don't mind, I do have a question for you. What did you feed them to get 4 ft. tall in 20 weeks? Some of my seedlings are 2 months old (8 weeks give or take), still under grow lights, and they're barely 2" tall.
    O.

This post was edited by otis11 on Mon, Oct 7, 13 at 17:58

• rcharles_gw (Canada)
    10 years ago

Abraham,
    That seems very tall for a seedling of 20 weeks for sure. I am confused a bit as you mention that you you did not take the lights off it last year? Is it older than weeks? A photo would definitely help with help.
    Rick

• abraham1
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Sorry, it is 20 MONTHS old NOT 20 WEEKS.

• abraham1
    Original Author
    10 years ago