Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chris705743

Adenium leaves turned yellow and all fall off

chris705743
9 years ago

One one of my adenium plants leaves has turned yellow and all fall off and now has become leave less. I have dig out some of the soil and saw a lots of tiny ants inside the soil, so spayed some insecticide and ants powder into the soil. Yesterday I have changed the soil the head was not rotten, so what actually happened to my plant, can anyone please advice?

Comments (6)

• gessieviolet
    9 years ago

Chris, I am new with adenium too, but here is a suggestion that might help.

Type in "adenium leaf drop" in the search box(upper right corner of your page). I got over 100 posts where this problem is discussed.

Hope this helps. Hang in there!

• rcharles_gw (Canada)
    9 years ago

Chris, the leaves dropping off can be a normal occuence with Adeniums.
    They drop their leaves when going into dormancy. As long as the stems, caudex (girth or base above soil) and roots are firm and clear of any rot, then it should be fine.
    Sounds like you have already examined your plant and the roots are clear of rotting.
    As for the ants. I have found that if I have had mine outside for the summer and the pots are sitting right on the deck. The ants or wood bugs will go into the pots.
    I keep mine now all up off of any solid surface with pot feet or on my plant stand. Also, keeps them from ever sitting in water being of the ground.
    Changing the soil was a good move.
    Please check back.
    Rick

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    9 years ago

".... so I sprayed some insecticide and ant powder into the soil."

There isn't enough information to identify the problem precisely, and it isn't 100% clear whether the yellowing and leaf loss came before the insecticide applications or after.