Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
parodise

Adenium socotranum has arrived

parodise
10 years ago

Hi everyone,
thought I'd share my joy at the arrival of my two true socotranums! These are 4-year-old seedlings I received the other day. The plants are from the same batch - yet another confirmation how different they may be...
Is there anything about socotranums I should pay special attention to, do or avoid doing, for that matter?
One thing I know is they are very slow growers. What has your experience been with them?
Lena

Comments (39)

• parodise
    Original Author
    10 years ago

One more from another angle...

• greenclaws UK, Zone 8a
    10 years ago

Hi again Lena...you now have the collecting bug for sure! They look promising already, i hope they do well for you. I have no experience of growing Socos, but I hope someone will come in who is growing them. I'm not aware that they will need any special treatment though...again I may be wrong.
    If you Google 'Socotra Island flora' and go to' images', it gives you an insight into the amazing DR's and other weird flora of the island. Can't get it to link for some reason.
    Gill UK

• rcharles_gw (Canada)
    10 years ago

Lena,
    Those are wonderful. You should be excited! I have some seedlings growing (about 7-8 wks. old) and I understand that they are very slow to grow.
    Looks like you are way ahead of me.
    Congrats,
    Rick

• teyo
    10 years ago

Good luck with your socotranums!
    i have three that i grew from seed, they are going to be a year old soon, but they are teeny tiny. the problem is my stupid cat knocked them over when they were about two months old, and as all baby adeniums they are VERY sensitive to drying out when young. well mine were on the floor for a few hours until i came home :(
    they did survive, and they are growing, but that event slowed them down even more, they have only now begun to pick up.