Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeh4z

New to AV

jeh4z
16 years ago

I'm new to houseplants in general... I'm up to 3 now, with this guy as my latest addition. I saw him in Lowe's and he looked unhappy. I picked off all the wilting flowers, then put some warm water with the fertilizer stuff in a dish and let him soak it up. So, questions. Should the bottom row of stems be so droopy? Also, when I pick off the flowers, do I want to get the stem they are on too? I have him next to a big window, so I think he gets enough light. Any other tips on getting vibrant and frequent blooms would be appreciated... I'm new to this whole plant thing, but I love it so far. Also, I kind of want to know what type of AV it is, if anyone can identify it. Thanks!

{{gwi:358529}}

Comments (6)

• minibot
    16 years ago

Everyone has their own preferences or suggestions, but I'd say get some African Violet food. I use Schultz and it works great for me. I put fourteen drops in a two liter bottle and use that to water my AVs when they need it. I have a couple with a wicking system, which also works well for me. Your AV looks like an unnamed store violet, but it will grow stronger with proper care. Provided the roots are good on it, it should survive the abuse from Lowes. SOme of my prettiest and hardiest are unnamed varieties from the big box stores, but I'm not particular. I have a really pretty standard (which is the size you seem to have) with some single and some like triple frilly blooms on each stalk. It's a really pretty purple. I also have a nice pink and purple fantasy unnamed. It blooms like crazy! Welcome to the forum!

• irina_co
    16 years ago

jeh4z -

Welcome to the forum, hope it is your first AV out of many more.

Your plant came to your home very much abused. I would wait on fertilizer a bit or keep it on a very low concentration.