Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
barb_roselover_in

Asking for help

barb_roselover_in
10 years ago

I have three or four African Violets that need repotting.
These particular violets have two in the pot. Would you tell me what kind of potting soil and where I need to order. Any other information would be appreciated. Thank you Barb

Comments (16)

• PRO
    Whitelacey
    10 years ago

Barb,

Go to Home Depot or Lowe's. Get a bag of AV potting soil and a bag of perlite. You can also get some vermiculite but since you only have a few plants you may not want to go the extra expense. If so, choose the perlite over the vermiculite.

Mix your soil 1/3 perlite to 2/3 soil. Use a pot 1/3 the size of your violet and do not fertilize for a while because the potting soil will probably have fertilizer in it. It will state so on the bag.

Maybe someone else can tell you how long the fertilizer in the soil lasts. I have never used potting soil so I have no experience about the longevity of the fertilizer it contains.

Linda

• barb_roselover_in
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks , whitelacey for the help. Will do as you suggested. Do we have to be really careful when we pull these violets apart and how about the length of the "neck"? They have been reaching for the light in these dull days. They are on a stand by a north facing big picture window. You are very nice to take the time to help me. Barb

• irina_co
    10 years ago

Barb -
    there is a bunch of photos on how to - at rachelsreflections.org
    Good luck and welcome to the fold.

Irina

• PRO
    Whitelacey
    10 years ago

Barb,

Most violets will pull apart fairly easily. If not, you can slice down the middle taking care to retain roots on each plant. Scrape the neck gently down to the green area and plant so your soil reaches the bottom row of leaves. Do not plant too deeply. If your neck is so long that you can't fit it in the new pot, just slice off the bottom until it is the appropriate length.