Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greenamachina

These poor poor things..

greenamachina
14 years ago

Hey guys! First post on gardenweb!

So I was with my girlfriend at Lowes today, and saw the plant clearance rack(that's never good news I know.. lol). I'm new to plant care/growing and saw these sad african violets. They were 1 dollar so I decided it would help me learn whether I successfully revived them or not. I picked the best-looking pot, and I'm wondering if this is salvageable. This looks like a case of way excess watering. Lots of water damage on the leaves. I have removed the plastic cover and am letting the soil dry out, and after it shows me a little sign of recovery (if any), then I will repot to a much better draining soil. If it takes a turn for the worst then I'll just propagate from a leaf. The first pic is with all foliage, and the second pic is after I removed some dead leaves. What do you guys think?

{{gwi:359299}}

{{gwi:359301}}

Comments (6)

• travisviolets
    14 years ago

Hi, Its cold damage. Trim the out side leaves and let it dry out. Put it in a strong light but it need 10-12 of darkness. Water only when its dry again. Keep it warm.

Travis

• Christine
    14 years ago

Welcome to GardenWeb Greena! Warning: these things are addictive - you'll want more after you watch this one recover. Where there's green, there's hope is my motto.

One other thing I'd do with this plant is to completely remove all of the bloom/bud peduncles (stems). Right now the AV needs to spend its energy growing healthy new leaves. Keeping a plant disbudded stimulates leaf growth as do the light and heat (75º - 77º) Travis recommended.

Good luck - let us know how the plant's recovery progresses.

• loveviolets
    14 years ago