Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
caliloo_gw

Baby looks nothing like mama plant?

caliloo
13 years ago

Hey all

First of all, I am really new to AV's. I am an avid outdoor gardener and have been really successful with orchids and succulents, but this is really a new area for me.

Last fall, after finding success with a couple of rescue plants from the box store clearance rack, I decided to try my hand with some more intersting varieties. I bought a leaf collection and armed with the rooting instructions, went to town. I have been pretty successful with starting the babies (of the 60+ leaves I started I only lost 3) but I was really surprised that a couple of them don't look like the leaf they are growing from.... why are the leaves so withe with light varigation when the parent leaf is seemingly all green?

Wranglers Ragtime Cowboy

{{gwi:359472}}

{{gwi:359473}}

Thansk so much for any help or advice!

Alexa

Comments (5)

• thominindy
    13 years ago

You lost 3 out of 60+? I'd say your doing something right. FC2 describes folaige for Wranglers Ragtime Cowboy as "Variegated dark green and pink". I would say that everything is in order. The babies in your next post look fabulous. Babies do need enough green in the leaves to support themselves after potting.

You may get better response on Monday as this forum seems more active during the week.

Happy growing

Thom

• caliloo
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks Thom. Hopefully they will green up some more and be able to grow.